Outside

That’s where I went today.  Outside.  I’m very proud of it.  I’ve been in a rubbishy mood recently (more on that one to come), and I’m taking a break from posting about gendery things – mainly because nothing has happened yet and it’s driving me crazy – to mention a small success.

When my mood takes a nose-dive, I typically retreat into myself and spend all my time furnishing the bubble that I hide in.

But not today.  Finally, my dad’s gone back to work, so it’s not been quite as difficult to exist today.  My mum’s still here, and we’d planned (before The Mood Thing) to go to IKEA today, because last week was half term and it would inevitably be full of irritating small people if we went then.  So we waited.

I’ve got a lot of deliveries coming, so with the torrential rainy crap that filled this morning, I wasn’t all that happy leaving before they’d come.  Thankfully, I thought, our bloke just leaves them inside the open porchy thing that isn’t really a porch, and they should be fine.

Anyway, as we always do when my dad’s not there, we arrived at IKEA just as it was opening, and it was pleasantly empty throughout our excursion… apart from the odd loon who can’t park their trolley.  But that’s another rant for another time.  My main bag has been broken since February (it won’t close), and I was pleased to find a replacement in the IKEA Family (ie. discounted – woo hoo) section.  I was mainly looking to try and figure out what I might need to take with me to Halls next year, but my mum had… dramatic music please… a list.  She wasn’t as successful as she’d hoped to be, but she admitted to overenthusiasm and (shudder) optimism, so there we go.  That’s what you get for thinking positive.  Scoff scoff.

Anyway, then we had Big Macs, in a similar move to the A Level Results Day Celebration; while other people had apparently formed some kind of reward deals with their parents, not me.  No money, no shiny gadgets.  “I’ll have a Big Mac, please.”  It was close; it almost topped the Birthday Pizza Takeaway from the year before.  I’m easily pleased.

Still, I even managed to, you know, speak in proper sentences and stuff to some people I didn’t know.  It wasn’t so much a choice, but it took me by surprise, and I didn’t lose my words.  Which I was rather proud of.

I went Outside.  Me.  Out.  Side.  Ha.

This admittedly wouldn’t have been such a Thing a while ago.  It’s only since some adolescent chemical in my brain decided to throw a hissy fit that I feel the need to celebrate small achievements.  And yes, when I celebrate, you all have to hear it.  Mwah ha ha.

About JC

I'm a no-longer-nameless trans asexual autistic, chemistry undergraduate at a London university, pronoun enthusiast, amateur photographer and budding proofreader. Son of Optimus. Join me and be amazed. Or just join me. The sense of awe and wonder is optional.
This entry was posted in Bio, Life, Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

