Food For Thought

I’m posting away from gender for once, because I’ve just been shown a brilliant piece of brainwork in a newspaper filler this afternoon.

There’s a guy somewhere out there who has changed his surname from Price to Pppppppppprice in the hope of deterring cold-callers with confusion over its pronunciation.

My deed poll is finally on its way now, so I may have lost my chance to take a similar path; well, that and the fact that I’m very happily a Prime.  But if I was to follow in Mr Pppppppppprice’s footsteps, I might go one step further…

Which, at least for me, means:

  • My surname would be made up of an unintelligible string of letters, as impossible to pronounce as I can invent.
  • It would be pronounced “Smith”.
  • I would make a point of this to any cold-callers, fake some old-fashioned British indignance, and slam the phone down.

Et voila.   Over and out.

About JC

I'm a no-longer-nameless trans asexual autistic, chemistry undergraduate at a London university, pronoun enthusiast, amateur photographer and budding proofreader. Son of Optimus. Join me and be amazed. Or just join me. The sense of awe and wonder is optional.
This entry was posted in Boredom, Life, Musings, Soapbox and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

