TRANSformations

Yeah, I know, the surname thing’s getting old now.  But I can’t help it.  I’m a Point Labourer and I’m damn well proud of it.

However, I have an excuse this time.  This post is at least partly to do with the New-Surname-Related Things That I Hadn’t Thought About.  Like the whole… Transformers thing…  I now share a surname with Optimus.  Which is lucky, because I do happen to like the films quite a lot.  As does my mother.  So now, she spends most of her free time imitating Megatron shouting “Priiiime!”.  Or knitting.  Always good to find a calming hobby.  Anyway.

It was her who pointed out the “transformative” significance of the impending name change.  It took me quite a while to stop laughing when she mentioned it, since I’m a big fan of the films and yet I still hadn’t thought of it.

The Fitting Points
So, with strangely good timing, my dad came across a DVD box set: all three Transformers films, the third of which I haven’t yet seen.  He bought it, since it was on offer.  Of course.  Not because, you know, the films have epic special effects or cool little messages in the background or surprisingly good humour, or anything like that.  Sigh.

And I watched the first two yesterday, to help me get through my last night of insanely panicked work-slash-revision.  When I did, I was reminded of several parts which I had forgotten over time, and they seemed even more relevant now than they had done originally.

The one in particular that I want to mention was Optimus’ line, of course, which came an hour and a half into the first film:

Freedom is the right of all sentient beings.

Naturally, I read far too much into it, and decided to dedicate an entire blog post to it.  But I still can’t help but feel that it’s a very pertinent point.  Given, you know, the whole trans thing.

The fact that it’s come from a film about alien robots doesn’t change its meaning.  And it’s true.  The sad part is that there are still some sentient beings out there who are denied this right.  Such a simple one at that; you’d think it wasn’t a lot to ask.  Who knew it was so hard for people to just let others be, and help them when needed?

And this most emphatically does not just apply to trans people.  There are much worse troubles out there, and I’m not attempting to claim that we as a collective suffer any more than anyone else.  It just came to my attention at the right time, that’s all.

So many countries have laws against homosexuality; sometimes it even carries the death penalty.  In a world that claims to be advanced, there is so little logic when it comes to developing our species for the better.  Please note, I’m not referring to developing the world itself; just the people in it.  Specifically, the ones in charge who (often) know no more than anyone else, and who refuse to admit their ignorance, instead dealing out suffering to those who make a point of it.

I know there’s little I can do about it, and I’m not claiming to have a solution, but it’s saddening sometimes, if you think about it too hard.  The joys of overthinking with frustratingly-overactive-but-still-dim brains.

So I’ll bring my waffly, not-really-a-point to a close with another gem from Optimus:

They’re a young species.  They still have much to learn.

Let’s hope so.

About JC

I'm a no-longer-nameless trans asexual autistic, chemistry undergraduate at a London university, pronoun enthusiast, amateur photographer and budding proofreader. Son of Optimus. Join me and be amazed. Or just join me. The sense of awe and wonder is optional.
This entry was posted in Gender, Life, Musings, Soapbox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

