Mega Update

Hello again.  I thought it would be easier to do one big update on each of my weirdo-posts, rather than to post separately for each strange little thought process.  So here I go.

Laboratory Thief
It turns out that we have less of a thief than a rearranger.  Our own personal poltergeist, if you will.  I found out that none of my stuff had actually been stolen, or even sold on the Black Market (which, I admit, would have been kind of cool).  Instead, all the things that had been going missing over the several weeks of labs had been collected – or accumulated somehow, at least – into a humongous pile opposite the Store.  It’s still a bit of a mystery, since no one seems to know who has done it, or why… and apparently locking things away in your personal drawer doesn’t stop What-or-whoever It Is from taking them out and putting them on the Unclaimed Property Pile.

But anyway, I didn’t get killed for not having things in the end, and it turned out that my lab partner seemed to have double of a lot of equipment, so that may have been part of the problem as well…  The only thing I was really missing was a tiny piece of glassware that I don’t think I’ve ever needed anyway.  Lots of us were missing those, so I couldn’t feel too bad about it.  Sigh of relief about that one.  Anyway.

Proofreading
Well, that one’s still a work in progress… but if you happen to need any done, or you know someone who does, please let me know.  I just… like correcting others’ mistakes – ahem – so I’ll happily do it for free if you recommend me to your People…

I’ve yet to actually bother the Careers Service though, because I have literally had no time to spare.  And whenever I have, I’ve been typing on here, or Tumblr, or TSR… well, you get the point.  I do a lot of typing.  So sue me.  I need a break once in a while.  Jeez.

Relatives
I always like complaining about them.  Always.  Because it’s fun to articulate their hypocrisy.

So, here I go again.  After the debacle that I already posted about, they called (eventually) to rearrange.  The plan was to lunch somewhere mutually convenient – not that seeing them is ever convenient for us, but that’s not the point.  In fact, it’s never the point.  And it effing well should be, as far as I’m concerned.  Anyway.  Calm.

On the Dreaded Day in question, we got a note through the door saying that She had been “ill with D&V so we’ve taken her home early and won’t be having lunch”.  And that was it.  Normally, I’d have been both relieved and grateful.  But this time, I was incensed.

So my dad has been ill in bed for a week, and your response to that is “Oh, well, we’ll come to you then”, but She gets ill and everything’s called off so She can wallow in self-pity (and most likely have everyone around Her at Her beck and call).

… although, I’ve taken an idea from it, which may help with sticky situations like these in the future.  They think they can get away with a note through the door, so they don’t have to deal with our response, so that’s what we’ll do next time.  They can’t answer back then, so if we say we can’t make it (boo hoo), then they’ll just have to deal with it.  And they can’t complain, lest they be accused of having double standards.  Which they do have, but that’s not the point.

The Rest
The mental health-y stuff is pretty recent, and is improving, but slowly, so I don’t see much point in updating that one until more has changed.

Please note, I will also be updating on some odd conversations I’ve had since the changes in lab schedule (yes, the one that set me off last week).  Ta da!  Some relevance to the title of this blog for you.  Odd.  See?  Odd conversations that I’ve had.  Geddit?  No?  OK then.  I’ll crawl back into my hole now.

Good night, patient humans.

About JC

I'm a no-longer-nameless trans asexual autistic, chemistry undergraduate at a London university, pronoun enthusiast, amateur photographer and budding proofreader. Son of Optimus. Join me and be amazed. Or just join me. The sense of awe and wonder is optional.
This entry was posted in Boredom, Chemistry, Life, Musings, University, Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

