A Proofreader Is Born

… Well, actually, that’s not quite true.  I’m talking about myself here.  So I was born, nineteen-and-a-bit years ago.  But today I am taking a stand… against bad grammar.  And it’s all thanks to my fantastic Personal Tutor.

He suggested the idea in our meeting today, just as a way of earning some cash as easily as possible.  “Play to your strengths,” he said.  At this point, though, he was unaware that I had been trying to figure out a way of easing myself into the freelance proofreading business since I had taken the wise words of Mr Finch (while he was still putting up with us at school) very seriously.

I don’t want to go about it the wrong way.  And I still have an impending name change, which makes the whole Job Business rather more complicated.  I would rather avoid the hassle of building a reputation as a reliable proofreader under one name, then change it and have to start all over.  If you see my point.  And yes, I do have to change it.  If you don’t know why by now, then you haven’t been paying close enough attention; I’m hardly hiding it.  Jeez.  Some people.

The Green-Eyed Monster Rears Its Head Again
… and no, there should not be an apostrophe there.

Anyway.  I’ve been getting increasingly jealous of those already established in the field.  Flyers and stickers have been popping up at me everywhere.  “Experienced proofreader… contact me here.”  “Reliable service… reach me at this number.”  I seem to be unable to escape them.  Damn those people, I thought, already being paid for what comes naturally to them.  Just as it does to me.  Sigh.  Cue shoulders drooping, lethargic shuffling of the feet, and general apathetic attitude…

But wait!

My Personal Tutor explained today that they had been going about it all wrong.  Ha!  So there’s hope for me yet!  He gave me contacts, told me where to advertise, and where I could find adverts for (Anal) People Like Me.  And if it weren’t for the impending Scary Last Lab starting in a few minutes, I would be out there looking for them.

I’ll come back to this subject later.  Now I have some music to face.  But my main point being that I’m on a cloud today…  (Which was also partly due to a fantastic coming-out to my Personal Tutor straight afterwards – but that’s for another blog)

About JC

I'm a no-longer-nameless trans asexual autistic, chemistry undergraduate at a London university, pronoun enthusiast, amateur photographer and budding proofreader. Son of Optimus. Join me and be amazed. Or just join me. The sense of awe and wonder is optional.
This entry was posted in Life, Positives, University and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

